Nominations open for 3rd Martha Farrell Award for Excellence in Women’s Empowerment

Organisation:  Martha Farrell Foundation

Event Duration:  30 Nov . 2018--10 Dec . 2018

Last Date To Apply:  10 Dec . 2018

Nominations open for 3rd Martha Farrell Award for Excellence in Women’s Empowerment

On 13 May, 2015, Dr. Martha Farrell was killed, along with 14 others, in a terrorist attack on a guest house in Kabul, Afghanistan. She was there to conduct a gender training workshop with the Aga Khan Foundation.Dr. Farrell devoted her life to promoting gender equality, women's empowerment and feminism in everyday life.

The Martha Farrell Award for Excellence in Women’s Empowerment has been instituted to honour Dr. Farrell and her ideals. It is a first-of-its-kind initiative to discover, recognise and honour mid-career individuals and committed organizations, which have made valuable contributions in areas of work related to gender equality and women’s empowerment. These individuals and organizations can come from all sectors — government, business, industry media, culture or civil society.

The annual Award, jointly instituted by RizwanAdatia Foundation (RAF), Society for Participatory Research in Asia (PRIA) and Martha Farrell Foundation (MFF), is given in two categories with a prize money of INR 1,50,000 each:

  1. MOST PROMISING INDIVIDUAL (any gender) who has worked on promoting gender equality and women’s empowerment consistently
  2. BEST ORGANIZATION FOR GENDER EQUALITY, which has been implementing practices to create gender sensitive and secure workplaces.

To know more about the award criteria, click here:


The selection of the two awardees will be made by an eminent eight-member jury, which includes:

  1. ShabanaAzmi: Noted artist, actor and social activist
  2. KamlaBhasin: Eminent gender-equality activist, social scientist and author
  3. Justice (Retd.) Ajit Prakash Shah: Former Chief Justice of Delhi/Madras High Courts and Chairperson  of the Law Commission
  4. SushamaNath: India’s first woman Finance Secretary; currently member of the Finance Commission
  5. Anuradha Das Mathur: Founding Dean of the Vedica Scholars Programme for Women and Founder-Director of 9.9 Media
  6. AnshulTewari: Media entrepreneur and founder and editor-in-chief of Youth Ki Awaaz (YKA), India’s largest online platform for youth voices on social concerns and issues of importance
  7. ShubhashishBhutiani: Indian film director, actor, and script writer; winner of National Film Award for directing MuktiBhawan
  8. BinalakshmiNepram: Humanitarian, author and feminist peace activist of women-led disarmament movement in Manipur, India.

To read more about the jury, click:

Apply online here:

For further details or queries, write to


Back To Event Listng

Post Your Profile

Freelance/Part-Time Jobs




More Events

Applications Invited for The Stellar Prize From Talented Minds In The Field of Literature
Event Duration : 16 Feb . 2019--01 Apr . 2019
Applications are invited for Training Programme on Sustainable and Energy Efficient Buildings
Event Duration : 25 Feb . 2019--01 Mar . 2019
 Kaizen-The Annual Social Festival
Event Duration : 01 Mar . 2019--03 Mar . 2019
Sitemap | Site feedback | Terms of services | Privacy | Cancellation and Refund Policy ©Renalysis Consultants Pvt Ltd