List of Top 5 International Awards for Indian Non-Profits


January 30, 2019

List of Top 5 International Awards for Indian Non-Profits

NGOBOX, India’s largest developments sector platform, brings together international awards and contests that are open for Indian nonprofits. Here we are listing top 5 Awards 

Famae Water Challenge to support innovation in the field of environment

Name of the Organisation: Famae Foundation

Deadline: 15th February 2019 

Description: FAMAE is an independent family foundation that supports innovation in the field of environment. The foundation organizes every year an International Challenge to help inventors to create simple and innovative solutions that can substantially improve our daily lives, while significantly alleviating environmental footprints.

Eligibility Criteria: It is open to everybody, especially to the Education community (students, professors, researchers.) to the Business world (start-ups, Small & Medium size enterprises) and to the philanthropic organizations (social entrepreneurs, NGOs).


For more information please check the Link 

The Equator Prize 2019 for Outstanding Local Community Initiatives That Provide Solutions for Climate Change Mitigation

Name of the Organisation:  The Equator Initiative

Deadline: 26th February 2019

Description: The Equator Initiative is a United Nations-led partnership that brings together governments, civil society, grassroots organizations, and businesses to foster resilient communities by recognizing and advancing local nature-based solutions for sustainable development. The Equator Initiative creates opportunities and platforms to share knowledge and good practices, develops capacities of local communities and indigenous peoples, informs policy through convening multi-stakeholder dialogues, and fosters enabling environments to replicate and scale up community action.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • The initiative must have been in existence for at least three years, and/or the actions taken must have been in place for at least three years.
  • The nominee must be either a local community-based initiative, operating in a rural area, based in a country receiving support from the United Nations Development Programme (for a list of eligible countries, please click here); or an initiative led by indigenous peoples in any country, operating in a rural area.
  • The actions taken by the nominee must be nature-based, and must deliver benefits related to two or more Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).


For more information please check the Link

The Right Livelihood Award for People and Organisations Offering Solutions to Global Problems

Name of the Organisation: The Right Livelihood Award Foundation

Deadline: 01st March  2019 

Description: The Right Livelihood Award was established in 1980 to “honour and support courageous people and organisations offering visionary and exemplary solutions to the root causes of global problems”. It has become widely known as the 'Alternative Nobel Prize' and there are now 170 Laureates from 69 countries.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Anyone – except Right Livelihood Award Jury and staff members – can propose anyone (individuals or organisations), except themselves, and close relatives or their own organisations, to be considered for a Right Livelihood Award. 
  • The Right Livelihood Award Foundation reserves the right to refuse clearly unsuitable proposals. Proposals must not be publicised, except to the candidate and possible referees. Failure to observe this disqualifies a proposal.
  • The Foundation receives proposals from all around the world. Projects from Global South countries and grassroots activists have the same chance of being proposed as, for example, a scholar or entrepreneur from the Global North. Through this open nomination process, the Foundation gets a sense of what people around the world perceive as the most urgent problems – and who develops ways to solve them.
  • Every year, there are more than 100 proposals for the Right Livelihood Award. After careful research by the Foundation’s research team, reports on the current proposals are submitted to the Foundation’s board and international Jury. The Jury meets annually in September to select the Recipients. The year’s Laureates are announced at a press conference in Stockholm.



For more information please check the Link

World Habitat Awards 2019 for identification and the promotion of good habitat practices

Name of the Organisation: World Habitat 

Deadline:  31st March 2019

Description: The Awards were established in 1985 for the identification and the promotion of good habitat practices. They were initiated in 1987 as World Habitat contribution to the United Nations International Year of Shelter for the Homeless. The concept of identification of good practice was virtually unknown in 1985 and the Awards were supposed to run over three years only. However, the response was so positive that World Habitat decided to keep the competition running. After 30 years, the World Habitat Awards are going from strength to strength

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Any individual, organisation or government who has an innovative and practical solution to housing needs and problems from any country of the world.
  • More than one entry can be made by the same individual or organisation.
  • Entries should relate to housing projects and processes that are either completed or in progress. Those that are at design stage only or in the very early stages of development cannot be considered.
  • Previous entrants can re-submit in subsequent years providing that the project has been further developed in the intervening time period. 



For more information please check the Link 

Sarphati Sanitation Awards to honor the outstanding contribution of individuals or organizations to the global sanitation and public health challenge

Organisation:  Aqua for All 

Deadline: 01st July 2019 

Description: World Waternet, Netherlands Water Partnership and Aqua for All, endorsed by the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Directorate-General for International Cooperation (DGIS), initiated the biennial Sarphati Sanitation Award in 2013 to honor the outstanding contribution of individuals or organizations to the global sanitation and public health challenge through entrepreneurship.

In 2018 the Water Supply & Sanitation Collaborative Council (WSSCC) joined the Sarphati Sanitation Award Partners Aqua for All and World Waternet, in organizing the SSA 2019. The Sarphati Sanitation Awards 2019 will be handed out for the fourth time during the opening of the Amsterdam International Water Week on 4 November 2019.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Sarphati Sanitation Award for Promising Entrepreneur or consortium can be awarded to any Entrepreneur or consortium focusing on groundbreaking entrepreneurial activities in the field of integrated sanitation systems in urban contexts as mentioned above.
  • Sarphati Sanitation Award for Life Time Achievement will acknowledge individuals who have dedicated a large part of their life to influence decision makers, policy makers and implementers to find sustainable, integrated urban solutions for people worldwide who suffer from inadequate sanitation service, create value out of what was hitherto regarded as waste and thereby improve health.



For more information please check the Link 

To know more about different awards, please check the Link 






Don't miss any updates!


© Renalysis Consultants Pvt Ltd