Applications Invited for Norman Borlaug Field Award

Applications Invited for Norman Borlaug Field Award

Organization: World Food Prize Foundation

Event Duration: 01 Oct. 2022 - 31 Oct. 2022

Apply By: 15 Jun 2022

Follow us @ngobox

About the Organization

The World Food Prize Foundation's mission is to elevate innovations and inspire action to sustainably increase the quality, quantity and availability of food for all. 

The Foundation supports this mission through programs:

  • Recognizing and rewarding individuals making exceptional achievements in addressing food security;
  • Convening global leaders in Des Moines each year to address the latest issues and innovations in food and agriculture;
  • Inspiring and recognizing exceptional students in Iowa, in the U.S. and around the world by providing educational and professional experiences on pressing food security and agriculture issues; and
  • Addressing Iowa's challenges and successes in fighting hunger and poverty through the Iowa Hunger Summit and Directory.

The World Food Prize Foundation was initially sponsored and formed by businessman and philanthropist John Ruan, Sr. with support from the Governor and State Legislature of Iowa. Mr. Ruan endowed The Prize and relocated it to Des Moines in 1990 when its first sponsor withdrew. Without Mr. Ruan's generosity, the Prize and Dr. Borlaug's vision could not have continued. Today, over 80 companies, foundations and individuals support the Foundation. In 2001 John Ruan's son, John Ruan III, succeeded his father as chairman of the Board of the Foundation. Barbara Stinson became President of the Foundation in January 2020. A distinguished international Council of Advisors provides guidance and support to the Foundation.

About the Event

The Dr. Norman E. Borlaug Award for Field Research and Application, endowed by the Rockefeller Foundation, is presented every October in Des Moines, Iowa, by the World Food Prize Foundation.

This $10,000 award recognizes exceptional, science-based achievement in international agriculture and food production by an individual under the age of 40. Awardees emulate the same intellectual courage, stamina and determination in the fight to eliminate global hunger and poverty demonstrated by Dr. Norman Borlaug as a young scientist working in Mexico in the 1940s and '50s.

Dr. Judith Rodin, former President of The Rockefeller Foundation, announced during the 25th World Food Prize Laureate Award Ceremony in 2011 that her Foundation would commit $1 million to endow this annual award in honor of Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, whose early work in Mexico was supported by The Rockefeller Foundation.

The award diploma incorporates the image of Dr. Borlaug at work in the fields of Mexico, as shown on the left. The image was created by artist John Collier and hangs as a tapestry in the Hall of Laureates.

The award presentation is appropriately held in the historically preserved and environmentally renovated World Food Prize Hall of Laureates. This $29.8 million project restored the century-old Des Moines Public Library and transformed it as a special tribute to Nobel Peace Prize winner and World Food Prize founder Dr. Borlaug.

The individuals chosen to be recipients of the Borlaug Field award are selected by an anonymous international jury, chaired by Dr. W. Ronnie Coffman of Cornell University. Dr. Coffman, who was Dr. Borlaug's only doctorate student, serves as a member of the World Food Prize Council of Advisors.


The deadline for nominations each year is June 15.

For more information please check the Link




© Renalysis Consultants Pvt Ltd