Applications Invited for Shorenstein Journalism Award

Applications Invited for Shorenstein Journalism Award

Organization: Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies (FSI)

Event Duration: 01 Feb. 2023 - 15 Feb. 2023

Apply By: 15 Feb 2023

Follow us@ngobox

About the Organization

The Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies (FSI) is Stanford University’s hub for nonpartisan, interdisciplinary research, teaching, and policy impact in international affairs. Our mission is to produce world-class scholarship, prepare future leaders, and influence policymaking in pursuit of solutions to the most critical global issues.

At FSI, leaders with deep experience in the highest levels of government collaborate with top academic scholars and a vibrant community of students, postdocs and staff. The largest of Stanford’s policy research institutes, FSI is a trusted convener of people and ideas across disciplines, building bridges among academia, government and industry.

FSI offers a unique intellectual space at Stanford that serves as home to scholars who believe that complex global concerns require multidimensional solutions. This constellation of problem solvers cuts across traditional academic boundaries with the aim of propelling the best ideas forward for the widest possible impact. Students from across Stanford come to FSI for training and mentorship that prepares them for leadership roles as international policy decision-makers across all sectors of the workforce.

About the Award

The Shorenstein Journalism Award, which carries a cash prize of US $10,000, recognizes outstanding journalists who have spent their careers helping audiences around the world understand the complexities of the Asia-Pacific region, defined broadly to include Northeast, Southeast, South, and Central Asia and Australasia. Award recipients are veteran journalists with a distinguished body of work. News organizations are also eligible for the award.

The award is sponsored and presented by the Walter H. Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center (Shorenstein APARC) at Stanford University. It honors the legacy of the Center’s benefactor, Mr. Walter H. Shorenstein, and his twin passions for promoting excellence in journalism and understanding of Asia. It also symbolizes the Center’s commitment to journalism that persistently and courageously seeks accuracy, deep reporting, and nuanced coverage in an age when attacks are regularly launched on the independent news media, on fact-based truth, and on those who tell it.

An annual tradition, the Shorenstein Journalism Award alternates between recipients whose work has mostly been conveyed through American news media and recipients whose work has mostly been conveyed through news media in one or more parts of the Asia-Pacific region. Included among the latter candidates are journalists who are from the region and work there, and who, in addition to their recognized excellence, may have helped defend and encourage free media in one or more countries in the region.

 How to Apply


The deadline to submit nominations for the 2023 award is Wednesday, February 15, 2023, at 11:59 PM PST


For more information please check the Link



© Renalysis Consultants Pvt Ltd