Applications Invited for Jeanie Borlaug Laube Women in Triticum (WIT) Early Career Award

Applications Invited for Jeanie Borlaug Laube Women in Triticum (WIT) Early Career Award

Organization: Borlaug Global Rust Initiative (BGRI)

Event Duration: 03 Sep. 2020 - 31 Oct. 2020

Apply By: 31 Oct 2020

Follow us @ngobox

About the Organization:

The Borlaug Global Rust Initiative (BGRI) is an international consortium of over 1,000 scientists from hundreds of institutions. The BGRI was initiated by ICAR, ICARDA, CIMMYT, UN-FAO and Cornell University in 2008. They are fostered by the Durable Rust Resistance in Wheat project, which serves as the secretariat.

Jeanie Borlaug Laube Women in Triticum (WIT) Early Career Award

This award, established in 2010, provides professional development opportunities for women working in wheat during the early stages of their career.​ The award is named after Jeanie Borlaug Laube, mentor to many, and daughter of Nobel Laureate Dr.​ Norman E.​ Borlaug.​ Jeanie Borlaug Laube has served as Chair of the Borlaug Global Rust Initiative since October 2009.​ 

Recipients of the Jeanie Borlaug Laube WIT award are invited to the annual BGRI technical workshop.​ The exact amount of the award will vary with demonstrated need, but is intended to help cover costs associated with attending the BGRI Workshop, including economy airfare, hotel, registration fees, and a standard per diem for meals and other incidentals.​ Award recipients are also eligible to attend a training program at CIMMYT in Obregon, Mexico.


The award is made only to women. There is no age limit, but the award is intended for early career scientists ranging from advanced undergraduates to recent PhD graduates and post- doctoral fellows.​ Priority is given to women at the pre-professoriate level.​

Nominees will be judged on:

  • Strength of scientific abstract submitted to the BGRI annual technical workshop
  • Commitment to and passion for agricultural development
  • Leadership potential
  • Quality of written statement of intent

Up to five awards may be granted in a given year.​ However, the number of awards granted may be fewer in number depending on the quality of applications received.​

Deadline: October 31, 2020

For more information please check the Link





© Renalysis Consultants Pvt Ltd